Furious Longings and Skeptical Souls (1)

Song of Solomon 2:10-13
“Arise, my darling;
My beautiful one, come away with me!
Look! The winter has passed,
the winter rains are over and gone.
The pomegranates have appeared in the land,
the time for pruning and singing has come;
the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.
The fig tree has budded,
the vines have blossomed and give off their fragrance.
Arise, come away my darling;
my beautiful one, come away with me!”

I can wrap my head far more easily around the idea that God loves me than I can imagine Him crooning these words over me.

springtime is lovetime and viva sweet love

My faith has been twisting and turning in the violent wake of a paradigm shift, and my mentor recommends that I reawaken my sense of Jesus as a person. Prayerfully. Meditatively. Reach out my ears and listen.

It is Jesus the person who saves.
Not Jesus the collection of verses.
Not Jesus the idea.
Not Jesus the Icon.

It is Jesus of Nazareth, the one Paul describes in the first verses of his letter to the Christians in Rome, the one John meets on Patmos in the Revelation – the Was One, the Being One, the Coming One – that fascinates me. I want to know Him. I want to be known by Him.

There’s a rumor going around that he has a furious longing for me, too – but I don’t really know about that.

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 15 May, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I know Him Whom I have believed Paul said. Listen to your mentor on this one. Grace and peace on your journey to and into love.

  2. My brother. My brother. I empathize with you in so many ways. I’ll go no further than offer you the words sung so well by Jeremy Camp… Jesus Saves!

  3. BTW… The story of the leper woman in The Furious Longing of God who quotes the Song of Songs as said to be recited to her by Jesus is an amazing story, isn’t it?

  4. When I was struggling with some issues some years ago, that same advice was given me. Have you read Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning? I found it reassuring. Keep walking with Jesus. He will never let you go.

  5. “I can wrap my head far more easily around the idea that God loves me than I can imagine Him crooning these words over me.”

    I can’t image why anyone would suggest God would ever do such a thing.

    • Welcome, Jenny – I fear your imagination has not been effectively shaped by the descriptions of God’s motherly love for the children of the covenant.

Leave a Reply

