A Parable and an Invitation

“Once upon a time there was a miller who lived in a windmill, and ground flour for the village baker. Day after day the miller used to worry about whether he was producing enough flour. One night, after there had been no wind all day, he hit upon a plan. He would disengage the cogs of the windmill, and work all night turning the machinery himself, by hand. Then he would be sure that there would be enough flour. When morning came, there was plenty of flour, but the miller was slumped asleep on the floor, the flour never got to the baker, and the whole town went without bread. So sound asleep was the miller that he never heard the noise outside, the noise of a rushing mighty wind.

“If you have ears, then hear.”

I’m tired of grinding. Grinding things to pieces. Grinding people to pieces. Grinding myself to pieces.

I want to hear the wind howling – feel it whipping my hair – slicing through my disguises – pushing me wherever it wills.

If you’re tired of grinding… if you want to run up a sail and let the wind drive you… let me know. I’ve got someone we both should spend some time getting to know.

in HIS love,
nick

PS – the parable comes from page 66 of Following Jesus: Biblical Reflections on Discipleship by Tom Wright

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 16 November, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is what I desire. Been trying to do this for a couple of years now. Any suggestions on how to better feel the wind would be appreciated… šŸ™‚

    • Mary, I don’t exactly have any suggestions – that’s why I’m going back to the beginning.

      The beginning, for me, is Luke’s narratives. I’m trying to invite a group of people to walk with me on an unhurried journey through Luke’s gospel (and maybe Acts after that… I don’t know yet). I’d like a combination of local people and my Fumbling family (to which you now belong – WELCOME!), and I’d like to start sooner rather than later, but that depends on who the Spirit draws into this journey.

      • I’m thankful to be considered part of your combination of local people/family. šŸ™‚

        And, wow! God is so awesome! We have been going “on an unhurried journey” through Acts since Dec of last year. It has been so rewarding and fresh, not to mention eye-opening. My husband, the minister (till the end of this month, anyway), has been leading the class.

        I guess we are on a similar journey. I have been so surprised at how many people I have met over the last couple of years whom God has been leading in a similar direction.

        Some would scoff, but I really feel like my journey started about 2 years ago when I got visited/filled by the Holy Spirit in the middle of the night. Course it probably started just a short time before that when I started questioning and studying the truth on the HS.

        Thank you for standing for the truth even though it leaves you open to ridicule. You are to be commended.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Parable and an Invitation Ā« Fumbling Towards Eternity -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

