A New Song For Me!

This summer has been full of new experiences, and by far the best one was being a Bible Camp counselor! This is the group from HH that went to middle school week at Rolling Hills Camp in Mt. Sterling. Over the coming weeks, I want to fumble through different stories I got into… see how much this experience affected me. Camp takes over your life for a week and fills you up with so many people and ideas and Scriptures and prayers – and SONGS!

Each night at camp, before bed, all of us would gather around the campfire for singing and devotional time. Despite the raging heat and questionable shower habits, this was always one of my favorite times of the week. Of course, you do a lot of singing at camp, but by the end of the day, everyone’s too tired to be “too cool to sing” and people who might be nervous about their voices are a little too tired to care, so I think that fire time always had the best singing.

Since I haven’t been involved with youth rallies and that sort of thing in several years, I’m a bit behind on my devo songs. A lot of my favorites from my Lipscomb years have held up for over a decade, including “Someday,” “Jesus Is Lord” (the invitation song the night I was baptized!), and “Firm Foundation.” But I picked up several new (to me, anyway) songs, including this brilliant piece by Michael W. Smith. For someone as intoxicated as I am by the ancient words of our Scriptures, this song just thrums with power! See what you think…

Holy words, long preserved
For our walk in this world
They resound with God’s own heart
Oh let the ancient words impart!

Words of Life, words of Hope,
Give us strength, help us cope
In this world, where e’er we roam
Ancient Words will guide us home!

Ancient words, ever true,
Changing me and changing you
We have come with open hearts
O let the ancient words impart

Holy words of our faith
Handed down to this age
Came to us through sacrifice
O heed the ancient words of Christ

Holy words, long preserved
For our walk in this world
They resound with God’s own heart
Oh let the ancient words impart!

Ancient words, ever true,
Changing me and changing you
We have come with open hearts
O let the ancient words impart!

Listening to forty 10-13 year olds sing this song around a campfire, with a glittering dome of starlight overhead… it was thin space time as Heaven and Earth touched for a moment.

Have you ever had a moment where worshipping God in song has created a ‘thin space’ between Heaven and Earth, where your group was filled with such joy or grief or reverence or awe or thankfulness that your hearts were really made one as you praised God along with the angels? Do you want to experience that again? What’s stopping you?

in HIS love,
nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 27 July, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Bible camp is an awesome experience. Glad you enjoyed that! Love the new blog!

  2. Only every time I hear “O Sacred Head.” Heard it first during chapel at Lipscomb.

  3. I love that song! And I totally agree about the singing at camp. Love it!! I went with pre-teens this year, and I was amazed by how sweet the singing sounded. We were in a chapel and the acoustics were awesome.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fumbling Towards Eternity » A New Song For Me! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

