If You Had Just One (or Two) Books…. Wednesday Ponders

Once again, our Wednesday tradition is sponsored by the good people at Thought Questions. Please drop by and participate there as well!

What one book would it be? If you would say the Bible, then what two books would you choose?

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 14 April, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Farenheit 451 and The Giver

  2. ooh, the Giver, that’s a good one. My husband is reading that now with some of his 5th graders. I haven’t read it in years, but want to again soon.

    Can’t think of just one book, sorry, Nick! What would you pick? (hey that rhymed!!)

    • One book, besides the Scriptures…

      it’s too early in the day… let me wrestle with it a little more!

      • Okay – I’m finally done wrestling (I think)

        My criteria for selection are two-fold – the books I’m selecting have both of these attributes, and I think they’ll address your qualms about ONLY two books.

        1) Life-changing power – the books I select have to have the power to get inside the reader, undermine their assumptions about reality, and help rebuild them into something closer to whole.

        2) Create an addiction to reading – after reading from the books I’d choose, the student won’t be able to stop right there. The power of books and stories to transport and transform will be too much to resist.

        Alright – with those criteria, my books are:

        1) ALL HS Students – The Christian Scriptures: Message Translation, NRSV, or NLT. Those are, IMHO, the best-for-reading translations available.

        2) Seniors: A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving – I haven’t read this book in almost 10 years, and its power still touches me all the time.

        2a) underclassmen: Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card

        Okay, so I tweaked the conditions – you’re right. Two is TOO HARD! But these stories are both just amazing.

        Lord of the Flies is also an excellent choice, Wendy – and Danny, I can’t believe I didn’t think of The Shack. That would definitely be 2b on my list.

  3. That’s a cruel question! How could anyone pick???

  4. The Case for Christ and The Shack.

    But Alicia is right- how really to choose.

  5. William Golding’s Lord of the Flies.

  6. What? WAY too many to choose from. Anyway, that would be cruel and unusual punishment — to give someone two wonderful books and then never give them access to any more. (The Bible and Lord of the Flies are good choices, though…)

    (A high school English teacher and mother of four boys!)

Leave a Reply

