If you HAD to teach… Wednesday Ponders

Jim Martin, from A Place For the God-Hungry, is the blogger I want to be when I grow up!

He turned me on to a very cool site, called Thought Questions – and I think he’s sparked a new Wednesday tradition here at Fumbling Towards Eternity! So – here’s your Wednesday Ponder… PLEASE share your answers with the rest of us!

If you HAD to teach something… what would you teach? Why?

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 31 March, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Literature…because escape between the covers of a book is something everyone needs!

    • AMEN! and not some dry class where we break down Thomas Hardy’s use of grammar in the Mayor of Casterbridge (can you tell I’m still scarred by Doug Morris???)

      But a class where the teacher sort of helps translate the story – to help transport the class into the story and thus be shaped by the story.

      Narrative is so much more powerful than it is given credit for.

  2. Well, I currently teach the Bible, and am proud to do so.
    However, for a job, I have already chosen to teach Math.

    • Do you like math? Why do you want to teach it?

      For me, math is a beautiful and precise language that I’d love to speak fluently, but instead I know just enough to thrive in a foreign country. Everyone can spot my non-mathematical accent, and I’ll never be a poet in that language, but I can order off the menu! 🙂

  3. If I had to teach something, if I had to pick just one thing, I would teach people that “God is love.” Every way I could think of, every way I could express it, from the kindygarden level to as high a level as my wee brain would let me stretch.

    God is love – you don’t have to trick Him into loving you. (Adam and Eve)
    God is love – you don’t have to bribe Him into loving you. (Cain)
    God is love – you can’t wash yourself enough to look worthy. (Pharisees)
    God is love – you can’t carry out His will in unloving ways. (Nick)
    God is love – His way of rescuing the world is by love. (ruling authorities)
    God is love – love never fails.

  4. …A good question to ponder!

    Well, if we are talking church, the ideal lesson I’d like to teach is, “We Are Saved!” I think in the mod/conservative COC, we still have the whole idea of, “if I die, I hope it is the exact moment in which I finish a prayer saying ‘forgive me of my sins’, otherwise, I don’t know if I’ll go to heaven.” So yeah, I think our unwillingness to fully accept the free grace we’ve been given is the hugest thing I could possibly teach. And pray for me, because I am (hopefully) going to get to teach an adult class this summer, and I intend to make this my topic.

    Besides that, I’d like to teach a non-doctrinal class at church on Leadership. I think we tend to elect elders/deacons that are heckuva-nice-guys, long-term members, and in good standing. What they are not, in many situations, is natural leaders…or even heckuva-nice-guys that realize they need to learn more about leadership, as it isn’t a gift for them. In my church, I (and others, it seems) see this as a huge issue. Well meaning, but just not skilled in what it takes to step back and look at the big picture.

    …So Nick, you can go ahead now and suggest a way to me to offer that class!! 🙂 Yeah, you can’t just go in and offer this sort of counsel. But I would so LOVE to help out in this regard, but just don’t know how to. In fact, I’ve been sitting here today working on a “Vision 2015” for our church (I am a nerd like that). No, I’ve not been asked to do it. No, I have no idea what I’ll do with it when I am done. But it is the gift God has given me, so I sit here and basically write a “business plan for church”, because my heart is full of ideas and strategies. It comes natural. And I have no idea of how to put it to use in God’s Kingdom. Oh yeah, I’m 33 and single, too. So that basically makes me about 90% heretic right out of the gate. 🙂

    Great question!! Actually forced me to get a few emotions out on paper, purged some thoughts I’ve been having. Cathartic. Have a great weekend, bro.

  5. I did teach – English and history to secondary school students. I would love to teach the Bible.

Leave a Reply

