Thank You For Being My Family

My friend Justin Gerhardt helped me remember something today, and I thought it might bless you as well. He asked us, What is Your Best Church Moment? I know that several of you have had terrible church moments and not many good ones – please don’t think that you’re alone or that I think church life is perfect. I’m just really happy to have mine, and here’s one reason why.

I’m an orphan twice over. Don’t start the violins just yet — I’m not whining. It’s just where the story starts. My biological mom gave me up when I was two or three, and my adoptive mom recently wrote me (and her daughter, my adoptive sister) out of the family will and unfriended me on Facebook. She has her reasons, and she and Dad made their church the beneficiary, so I’m not concerned about the money. I’m really not. But when she called me to tell me about it, it really dredged up a lot of old feelings and frustrations and a real sense of disconnection. I believe deeply in the idea that our words and actions have power to bless or curse the people around us, to strengthen them or wound them, and I have a very tender scar in the area of BELONGING.

A few days after my mom called me to give me her big news, I was sitting at Holly Hill just laughing and talking, listening to my father-in-law use Ebenezer Scrooge to make an illustration about contentment. I looked around and experienced this deep-down sense of peace, because this family has embraced me with all my scars and thorns and passion and introversion. THIS is my family, the family of God. I know what it means to be homeless, and I know what it means to be an orphan, and I praise God that He’s drawn me into His family.

That’s my best church moment!

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 28 January, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you’re in a great place. That’s what the church should be.

    Blessings.

  2. You made me cry.

    I had a panic attack one night some years ago. I was in some pain, it was late at night, and I was stressing about what we would do with Nicky if I had to go to hospital. Praise God, I now know I can call on my church family if anything like that happens again.

  3. That is awesome, Nick. Sometimes we do not realize what we have until moments like that. We will have the greatest family reunion and sense of belonging ever when our Lord returns.

  4. Thanks brother for pulling the curtan back on your pain and shining the light on the wonderful forever family that will always and forever love and value you.

    This sort of transparancy is sorely lacking in many of our lives and in our churches. Thanks for being Nick, a real guy whom I love.

    Royce

  5. Thank you, my friends! Especially you, Royce — I know we tangle from time to time, but I appreciate your honesty and courage and willingness to swim upstream for the truth as you understand it.

    Wendy, I pray that if I ever get to be a parent, I will have a faith community that I can trust to embrace and protect and challenge my children with the love and grace of Jesus.

  6. Justin Gerhardt

    Beautiful, brother. Thanks for sharing your heart on this.

Leave a Reply

