A Christmas Parable

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all my readers! Bible Journey Day 19 is percolating — I’ve written it, but as it is on the Resurrection and climate change, I want to get it just right. Come back tomorrow and it will probably be ready!

In the meantime, here’s a Christmas parable.

The kingdom of heaven is like two children who liked to fingerpaint. Both grew up in loving homes with parents who thought the world of them. But one child’s father said, “Son, please stop wasting paper and paint on making so many pictures for your mother and me. From now on, I only want you to paint pictures for us for an hour or two on Mondays. Those pictures, we will hang on the refrigerator. Any others, we will throw in the trash.”

The other child’s father said to his daughter, “Daughter, I cherish every gift you make for your mother and me. I love you so much, and it makes me feel so good to know that you love us so much! Whenever you want to paint a picture, you go right ahead. They’ll make our home a more beautiful place.”

The son got so distracted on the other days of the week that he eventually stopped painting altogether.

The daughter? She’s no artist, but her home is full of color and light.

If you have ears, hear.

in HIS love,
nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 3 December, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nick, I read this some time back and wanted to comment, “Welcome to the ranks of the heretics!” Merry Christmas, bro.

Leave a Reply

