If We Said We Were Blind…? Bible Journey Day 16

Bible Journey – Day 16

If We Said We Were Blind…?

Isaiah 34-43


I will lead the blind along an unfamiliar way;

I will guide them down paths they have never traveled.

I will turn the darkness in front of them into light,

and level out the rough ground.

This is what I will do for them.

I will not abandon them.

(Isa 42:16 NET.)


In Isaiah 42, we meet perhaps the most intriguing character in the Hebrew Scriptures: the mysterious servant of YHWH. Somewhere around my trainwreck of an office is a printed copy of this essay by NT Wright on Jesus and the Servant of YHWH – maybe I should have read it before writing this? Maybe not; I’m not doing commentary here, but more trying to share the story of this year-long journey. (I hope my Constant Readers don’t mind my weird little asides!)


I don’t know what’s going on in my head right now, but I have figured this much out: I am bloody clueless when it comes to being holy. I might talk a good game, but I’m a wreck inside. Patrick’s helping me learn to live out loud, but it is pretty embarrassing when you’re as blind as I am.


Then a grace note rings out: in the midst of this glorious, perplexing introduction of the Servant of YHWH, and the dramatic depiction of what the Servant and YHWH will be doing together, is this tender description of what they will do for the blind.


I don’t want to be blind. I’m not proud of it. I fight it! But He will not abandon me, and that is enough.


in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 13 October, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think one of the critical moments in spiritual formation is when we learn to say “I’m not adequate” and we let God do the leading.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  2. Nick,
    I have been enjoying the series.
    Great post and thoughts for us all.
    God bless all you are doing and continue to do with your blog and ministry brother.

Leave a Reply

