Fun Lists and Outrageous Claims – Bible Journey Day 5.5

Bible Journey – Day 5.5 – 20 Sept 2009

My Favorite Bible List, and an OUTRAGEOUS Proclamation


Lk 21:29-22:30

You are those that have stood by me in my trials.” – Lk 22:28


If you’ve kept up thus far, you might have noticed that I’ve tweaked our Bible Journey schedule a bit. I’m ADHD, you see, and these four different daily readings are just making me NUTS! So since there ARE four sets of readings, I’m rotating between columns, going through four increments (or so) each day. It makes the major prophets a little more challenging, but that’s cool. Next year, maybe we can journey together through Isaiah’s story alone.


Now, on to today’s journey with Luke. There’s a guy that shows up in today’s stories that reminded me of my all-time favorite Bible list – the “People I Can’t WAIT to Meet” list. I’ll point more of them as we encounter them, but this is a great one to start with.


I can’t WAIT to meet The Jar Guy! I want to know his name, how he knew Jesus, how he reacted to the events of those evil days. He’s another person like us, who will probably be nameless in the Great Story until that day when we all know our true names and our true LORD. I just can’t wait!


But then, later on, Jesus says something CRAZY! He tells the disciples, “You are those that have stood by me in my trials.”


WHAT??? THESE guys???


And what trials??? They’ve created as many trials as they’ve “stood by!” And what about that very night? How can Jesus say this? Think this? BELIEVE this?


I know love hopes all things.


I know Jesus sees with eyes of grace.


I don’t know how Jesus can say things like that about his disciples, but I hope (oh I HOPE) he says it about me.


In HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 20 September, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

