Working Together – Bible Journey and Bible Bowl – Bible Journey Day 2

Bible Journey – Day 2 – 8 Sept 2009

Working Together: Bible Journey and Bible Bowl

Luke 20:41-47; Heb 1:10-14; Proverbs 19:1-14; Isaiah 3-5

Is this COOL or what???

This is another of the very interesting ways that this particular Bible Reading schedule is working a blessing into my life. Not only do I love starting with Isaiah and bursting into the middle of Luke’s narrative, but I’m also happy that it calls for me to read Hebrews right now. See, the theme for Lads to Leaders and Leaderettes (terrible name, I know, but I’ll get off on that rant in another blog) this year is Faith is the Victory, focusing on Hebrews 11. The book being studied for Bible Bowl, then, is (of course) Hebrews! And I’m coaching the Holly Hill middle school Bible Bowl teams this year.

This is virgin territory for me in many ways! I’ve never worked with this age group before (except for substitute teaching their Bible class one Wednesday night, when I blew their minds with the post-Ark story of Noah – Paula’s gonna KILL me for that!), but after one coaching session this past Sunday, I already love them! Their questions are fresh, their answers are earnest, and their passion for Jesus is evident to everyone! Give a better man than me 50 kids like these, and I believe Frankfort could be totally converted to Jesus!

I’ve also never coached Bible Bowl before. I tend to teach theology and ethics in my classes – what the text says about God and what is the best way to live our way into the story. Bible Bowl isn’t like that – Bible Bowl is all about knowing exactly what the text actually says. So we’ll do drills and quizzes and I’ll try to teach them mnemonic devices to get as much of this incredible book into their little heads. I pray that Jesus is exalted in what we do, and that we honor God by honoring His Word, without deifying (idolizing?) it or becoming deluded that memorization = knowledge = control. For:

You founded the earth in the beginning, Lord,

and the heavens are the works of your hands. They will perish, but you continue.

And they will all grow old like a garment, and like a robe you will fold them up:

and like a garment they will be changed,

but you are the same and your years will never run out. (Heb 1:10-12)

In HIS love,

nick

Proverb for the Day:

Some friends play at friendship, but a true friend sticks closer than one’s nearest kin. (18:24 NRSV)

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 8 September, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

