T-Minus 30 Hours!

Okay, now I’m really starting to get excited! Less than two days from now, the Fumbling Towards Blogging Through the Bible in a Year Project will set sail! Several of you have signed up to accompany me on this journey, and I really appreciate all of this support. I’m just about as pumped as I’ve ever been to see how this project will change me. I really have no idea where this is leading, except that it will be a very good place!

I’m extra-excited because I’ve found a stellar reading plan! I spent a couple of hours reviewing all sorts of different plans. The ESV site has several good ones, as well as Zondervan, but I finally picked one from NavPress / Discipleship Journal. Here’s the PDF, along with my three favorite things about it:

  1. It starts in September! I don’t know if they’ve programmed their site to offer reading plans that start in the upcoming month, or whether this is just serendipitous providence, but I love it!
  2. It offers a great deal of flexibility! Notice that there are 25 4-part readings assigned per month. Since I’m going to be reading/writing every day, that allows me a lot of options for pausing and letting a particular passage simmer in my heart all day, instead of having to rushrushrush!
  3. It starts in unconventional places! I am so excited that this project will start with Luke and Isaiah instead of Genesis and Matthew. Not that those are inherently bad — I think that Matthew’s heavy emphasis on the Hebrew Scriptures earns him primacy of place in the NT canon, and Genesis is, well, GENESIS! But I know that that is not where I am in my life right now — I’m not at a place where I’m really prepared for creation to just burst forth! I’d probably overlook it. But Isaiah uses creation language even more than Genesis! While the Israelites are in exile, what they need is for God to create, and that is precisely what he promises to do, according to Eugene Peterson.

The only real weakness of this plan for me is that it doesn’t spread Psalms and Proverbs as broadly as I’d prefer, but after my research, I believe I’ll have to write my own plan to get what I’m looking for — maybe next year!

Anyway, there you go. T-minus 30 hours til launch! Are you ready? I AM!

in HIS love,

nick

PS – if anybody has any ideas how to build a counter-type widget to track the project, feel free to point me in the right direction!

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 30 August, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. How have I missed this? Other than the fact that I’ve kind of been in a blog-cave and missed everything besides my own church family lately…! This sounds very exciting. Can I read along with you? Is that the idea?

    Um, I hate to be a killjoy (she says but she’s going to be anyway) — I think that schedule actually starts in Genesis and Matthew in January, it just falls in Luke and Isaiah in September, and that happens to be at the top of the PDF file print-out. Or, it could be your way by the grace of God. 🙂 Whatev. It will be fun.

  2. So did you start? WHERE did you start? I read Luke 1-2, Isaiah 1-2, Psalms 1 and Proverbs 1

    • Thanks for the remind! I knew I could count on you.

      Not having internet at home is driving me MAD! I’d have posted last night, but couldn’t; forgot about it by the time I got to work this morning.

      What a goober.

  3. Sarah, you’re right, I think. But I figured we could just start in September, with Luke & Isaiah, since Nick was so excited about starting with those books. 😉 If you change your mind, Nick, let me know!

  4. Does that mean we get a double-post so that your blog stays “up-to-date?”

    **nods and grins furiously**

    [In case you hadn’t noticed, buddy, a whole lot of people like reading what you have to say!]

  5. Well, let’s not let that go to his head, Alicia. 😉

Leave a Reply

