T-Minus 100 Hours!

Gentle Readers, I’d like to announce that in approximately 100 hours, the Fumbling Towards Blogging Through the Bible in a Year project will begin!

If you’d like to assist, here are some questions I’ve not yet resolved, as well as my most important recommendation/request.

Questions:

1) Translation? I’m seriously considering doing my reading from the NETBible Learning Environment. I feel like it would be a really interesting investigation and a trip through an unfamiliar translation. The other options are (in order of likelihood of use): NRSV, TNIV, The Message, NLT, ESV — I love the ESV for study, but this is *not* a study project. I want to experience the Scriptures as an interactive reader.

2) Order? I’d like to hear from some of my friends and more experienced Bible-reader types. For purposes of this project, in what order do you think I should read the Scriptures? There are three major options: Christian, Jewish, and some form of Chronological (I have LaGard’s Narrative Bible in Chronological Order, but I’m not anchored to it. If someone wants to buy me a Chronological Study Bible, I wouldn’t get mad at you! 😉 ). Does anyone know of any other chronological layouts?

3) I feel like there was another question, but I can’t remember it. So this is my way of opening the floor to any random suggestions you might have.

Finally, whether you answer any of the questions above, PLEASE pray for this project. Invite the Holy Spirit, Breath of the Living God, to overshadow this project and use it to renew my heart and mind, and maybe even to draw others into the circle of the Father’s embrace. I really appreciate each and every one of you, Gentle Readers (even you lurkers whose names I might never know). I pray God’s richest blessings in your lives, and I hope I never say or do anything that might cause you to stumble.

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 28 August, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So what size “chunks” do you plan to work with during this project? I’m assuming it won’t be done by chapter. Or will it?

    • No, there’s too many chapters. I’m gonna read according to some sort of reading plan, but I’m not sure which one yet, because I haven’t decided on what kind of plan to even look for.

      The chunks I’ll actually blog about each day? Who knows. I think that’ll totally depend on how the day’s reading affects me.

      I don’t want to read Psalms and Proverbs like regular books, though. I’d rather scatter them throughout my year.

      Any ideas?

  2. Nick, I’m no scholar, just a regular person, but here are my thoughts:

    1) I think you should pick the translation that appeals to YOU the most, and then maybe invite your friends and readers to read their own translations and add comments regarding the different tones, feelings, wording, what-have-you between the two. I did an interesting exercise once where I would read a chapter in this version, then a chapter in a different version, and compare and contrast my reactions to each.

    2) Maybe this will help? http://www.ewordtoday.com/year/

    3) I am really looking forward to your blog this year!!

  3. I’ve been an NIV reader for a long time but recently acquired an NASV, so I am looking forward to studying in a “new” version. Like Alicia suggested, I guess we can compare the versions as we’re reading. And I’ll read in whatever order you do. I like to get the Psalms & Proverbs throughout the year too — you could do a few chapters of another book plus one of the Psalms and/or Proverbs each day.

  4. I’m a reader of anything that is a modern translation. I have found that multiple translations are good for me to get a clear understand of the text.

    I know I haven’t officially answered your question … but that’s just my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

