Prayer Requests

Dear friends and Constant Readers,

I have three prayer requests to lay before you.

1) Please pray for my friend Dave Davidson and his family, especially his grand-daughter, this week. Her 21-month-old son, Dave’s great-grandson, was murdered yesterday. The little boy’s father was mentally unstable, and he killed the son and then killed himself. That family needs gallons of grace this week.

2) While you’re at it, please pray for Holly Hill’s preaching minister, Bryan Dill. He will be ministering at the funeral Saturday, and this is one of the worst funerals anyone can be called on to serve.

3) Finally, would you mind praying for me this week? I need some Godly wisdom. You know how they used to say that the Oriental symbol for “crisis” is a combination of danger and opportunity? Well, it probably isn’t exactly true, but it is true enough in this case. I can see a REALLY exciting opportunity on the horizon, and I don’t know whether to reach for it or not. Some of you know how much I’ve thought, pondered, dreamed about being a minister. Some others of you know how woefully unequipped I am (or at least FEEL like I am) for this work. I just don’t know what to do.

So pray for Dave, and Bryan, and if you have any energy left over, pray for me.

in HIS love,
nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 28 May, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. My Father and my God, I pray for Nick this week, that you surround him with peace and bless him with your wisdom. I also pray for the Davidson family in this hard time and for Bryan Dill as he seeks to minister to them. Surround them all with your love and comfort. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

    God bless you this week.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  2. I will be praying for that poor, poor family, and Bryan. I’m afraid though, my prayers for your situation might take on a selfish tone!! 🙂 I’ll manage, I’m sure. (Is it okay to say that? Feel free to delete this if you don’t want the specifics advertised.)

  3. “the Oriental symbol for ‘crisis’ is a combination of danger and opportunity”

    Really? How do you know this stuff?!

  4. Prayers are being offered brother!

  5. Nick, I’ll pray for what you want.

    Wait, I’ll do you better than that. I’ll pray for what God wants.

  6. Praying! btw Nick, you ARE a minister now. I DO know what you mean…. a paid minister…

  7. It has been said that God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called. If you are not feeling equipped, then you qualify for His work. Grace typically comes when you need it, not in advance. (If grace does come in advance, understand that God is setting you up for something really difficult, with a huge payoff.)

    I’m heading to a family funeral this week as well. Not that I have the distress of the mentioned situation to go along with it, but I have great sobriety and compassion because of it. Praying.

    Bobby V. posted a video on his site called “God Is Enough” that seems to be relevant:
    http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/

  8. I will be praying for the Davidson family. Their loss is terribly heartbreaking.

  9. I’ve been touched by your current ministry bro! I am prayerful that God will raise you up to fill that spot in his kingdom!

Leave a Reply

