THIS Is The Day?

The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone. This is the LORD’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes. This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. (Psalm 118:22-24 ESV)

I’m not a very spiritual person. Some of you might have noticed. I love Jesus, but I feel completely inadequate most of the time. Someone says, “Do these things and you’ll be more spiritual — your life will be more focused on Jesus.” But what if I’m already doing those things, and I feel completely unfocused and basically a total wreck?

Here’s an example of my lack of spirituality. Someone who loves me, who sees that I’m feeling melancholy or the like, puts their hand on my shoulder at church and says, “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

I know they are just trying to bolster my spirits with a word from the Lord. I know that. But, does anybody remember the scene in Office Space where people keep saying, “Looks like somebody has got a case of the Mondays!” Well, when somebody offers me the pearl of Psalm 118:24, sometimes I just want to scream! Not very spiritual.

But I am looking at Psalm 118 right now, and noticing something pretty interesting. Jesus quotes this psalm to those who would challenge him in his messianic calling (Matt 21:23-46). He quotes verses 22-23 — which place v.24 in a very intriguing context.

Maybe the Christians who use Ps 118:24 as an excuse to inflict their cheerfulness on the rest of us might ask themselves and Jesus, “What Day is the psalmist describing?”

I don’t know how they’ll answer themselves, but Jesus wouldn’t hesitate to reply: Crucifixion Day.

What day did “the stone the builders rejected” become “the cornerstone”?

What day did the Lord do this?

Yes, I know I should rejoice in the salvation of the Lord. On days, though, when all I can think of is, “They killed Jesus because of me,” the last thing I need is someone telling me, “That’s right, and you should be happy about it!”

Today is the day that the Lord has made — but today isn’t the day the psalmist is talking about. That was a different day, and it was very scary and dark, and sometimes it is just too much for me to handle.

I’m not very spiritual, though, so pray for me, okay? What if I promise not to strangle anyone in the meantime?

in HIS love,
nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 25 January, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There is a difference between shallow cheeriness and deeper joy that we have when considering Christ’s redemption. The latter doesn’t preclude occasional bouts of melancholy – for example, think of the prophets! We’re not unspiritual or carnal just because we sometimes struggle with them.

    Thanks for pointing out the close context of these two often quoted phrases.

Leave a Reply

