The Story of a Question-Beggar

There once lived a fellow who had a good heart. He loved Jesus, the Bible, the gospel.

He wanted to share his faith with other people. So he’d tell them about Jesus, and how they needed to obey him.

They’d ask, “How do you know these things?”

He’d reply, “The Bible tells me so.”

They say, “Why should I listen to the Bible?”

He says, “Because it is the Bible.”

And when they say, “I know, but so what?”

He says, “look at these verses that say, ‘The Bible is authoritative.’ Look at all these prophecies.”

They say, “That’s cool. That’s really neat. So what?”

He stomps off and says, “They rejected Jesus.”

The moral of the story is: I’m afraid that you cannot prove the authority of the Bible by assuming the authority of the Bible. This is going to take a lot of rethinking for me to deal with. What do you think?

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 24 October, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I believe very strongly in the authority of the Bible, so long as it is coupled with the authority of the Church. I could say a lot of things in discussion, but won’t for fear of alienating anyone, including myself. I think your blog expresses a wonderful thought, though — a thought that should be fully explored by anyone who calls themselves “Christian.” “Study to show thyself approved.” Keep up the thought-provoking blogs! They make my day.

  2. Fifty to seventy five years ago you could almost automatically assume some level of respect for the authority of the scriptures (at least in the “Bible belt”) but no more. I think that instead of hitting people over the head with the authority of the scriptures as the good hearted fellow of your parable did, we have to challenge them to read them (with us if they will) so that they can gradually gain a respect for their authority over a period of time.

    I like Alicia’s comment and her loving spirit. My main difficulty, however, with looking for authority from the church is that it is composed of people, and people and groups of people have made so many sad mistakes through the centuries.

    God bless you Nick, Alicia and all,

  3. Agreed.

    God is God not because the Bible say but because He IS.

    The Bible only has authority because it comes FROM God.

    The Bible only has power when you believe. I read the Bible when I didn’t believe and it didn’t say anything. Once I gave authority to the Messiah I read it and it totally came alive.

Leave a Reply

