The Peace Prayer

I cannot believe I’ve never encountered this before. It is attributed to Francis of Assisi, even though it cannot be documented any earlier than 1912, when it was published anonymously in a French magazine.

There is so much here… I won’t waste your time with my own words.

Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

Amen.

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 17 September, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Beautiful prayer.

    I like your new blog.

  2. http://www.crystalcathedral.org/ here’s you link my brother!

    PS – Just a reminder of what I’ve said in the past. Not a poetry fan, but you are excellent. I may have to change my mind.

  3. Hello Nick,

    I read your comment from the Michael Khan blog regarding Mclaren. You had an interesting way of putting the ideas of Repentance and Christ :

    “Christ MEANS “God’s Ruler.” Repentance is DEFECTION language — you don’t start living a more moral life — you renounce allegiance to self and world and pledge allegiance to the Incarnate God, Christ Jesus the Lord. ”

    I wanted to know where you learned that? Is there any book you can recommend me in regards to Repentance and Christ and putting them in the way you did. Thanks.

  4. Welcome, Learning!

    That is a good question. The repentance concept, I learned from Mark Moore of Ozark Christian College, and from NT Wright. The Christ idea I stated: Christ is the Greek word for the Hebrew word Messiah, which basically means ‘Anointed One’. In Jewish context, the anointment is one of authority and rulership. The Messiah would sit on the throne of David and restore the kingdom to Israel. So, Christ = God’s Ruler.

    The quickest way to get the idea is to go back to Josephus, the Jewish/Roman 1st century historian. In Life of Flavious Josephus, 110, the historian writes of confronting Jewish rebels against Rome. By this time, Josephus is a defeated Jewish military leader himself, and he knows firsthand the power and relentless determination of the Roman military. Josephus doesn’t want the Jewish rebels to surrender; rather, he wants them to retain their weapons, leave their POSTS, and join him in service to the Romans.

    What does he say to persuade them? A phrase very familiar to Greek NT students. “metanoesein kai pistos emoi genesesthai” – REPENT AND BELIEVE IN ME. Exactly what Jesus preaches about himself and the kingdom of God in Mark 1:15.

    What books can I point you towards? Wright’s VERY accessible commentary, “Luke for Everybody” and his “The Challenge of Jesus” are both extremely interesting at explaining the idea of repentance in the 1st century context. In fact, you can check out what he says about Luke 13 in “Luke for Everybody” over on Google Books.

  5. Thanks for the reply and the recommendations. I will buy Wright’s commentary. But in he mean while….So when Jesus said “Repent, for the kingdom of Heaven is at hand ” was he basically saying ” forget the kingdoms of the world, turn from yourself and follow me and expand my kingdom “? if He was it basically sounds like that way of reading Jesus’ words enlarges on the more well known definition of repentance……”repent from your sins”. Or did Jesus have that in mind as well? Did Jesus basically have both in mind but the main one was repent from your sins…..or am I making a false dichotomy? So Jesus is basically commanding us to DEFECT from the kingdoms of this world. Thats a ‘dope way’ of putting it. So we’re defectors for Christ.

Leave a Reply

