What Are You Afraid Of?

1 John 4:17-18  By this is love perfected with us, so that we may have confidence for the day of judgment, because as he is so also are we in this world.  (18)  There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

What Do YOU fear?

I’m afraid of the rising price of living, the falling amount of clothing females wear anymore, and the combination of patriotism and Christianity.

What do you fear?

I’m afraid that I’ve sinned too much to please God.

I’m afraid I’ll never be a father.

I’m afraid all my Christian words are just that. Words.

What are you afraid of?

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 7 July, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m afraid of what may happen to me next.

  2. I am afraid of loss. I have already lost my mother, papaw, and an uncle. I wonder who’s next? Seems to be a fear I wrestle with several times a day. Life is indeed in the hands of our Maker.

    Patriotism and Christianity? Interesting combination….decieving?

  3. Thank you, dear brothers, for sharing with me. Fear is even worse when you are the only Christian you know who feels afraid all the time.

  4. I’m afraid of screwing up my chilren. Ooops, to late! 🙂

  5. I’m afraid of two things:

    1) Reverting back to the negative, pessimistic and fundamentalist ways I walked (without fully realizing it) for nearly 10 years.

    2) Wasting my life by not fulfilling my vocation to Brazilian missions and not being a good husband and father.

  6. Whoof, where to start?

    I’m afraid of failing to be there when my family needs me most.

    I’m afraid that my best days as a soldier are behind me, and that I’m not really certain what else I would want to do.

    I’m afraid that in seeking balance in many aspects of my life, I will fail to take a stand on a side when it’s really called for.

    That’s enough for now, I think.

  7. Your family is in my prayers.

    I can’t begin to comment on your second fear, brother. After WP, I was terrified for about a decade that I had completely wasted my calling and blown any chance at being a useful person. That fear still visits sometimes.

    Who are you, and what is your mission? I believe that having a clear identity and mission will integrate the meaningful areas of our lives, and highlight what is extraneous and should be jettisoned rather than balanced.

    I’m glad you’re along for the ride.

    in HIS love,
    nick

Leave a Reply

