100 Secrets of Happy People!?!?!? – Another Brief Interlude

(I promise, tomorrow will bring Receiving the Commission! Delayed gratification for a few more hours! 🙂 )

I’m sitting here at the library looking at a book entitled, The 100 Simple Secrets of Happy People. I’m sure it is a nice book, and it might even have some very helpful advice. But the title really makes me NUTS!

100 SIMPLE SECRETS TO BE HAPPY???

Come on! I can barely find my car keys in the morning! Now you’re telling me that in order to be happy, I have to remember ONE HUNDRED more things!?!? (BTW, I also have this frustration with John Maxwell. I think the man has a great heart and some great things to say, but 17 Essential Qualities of a Team Player and 21 Indispensable Qualities of a Leader??? Stop it already.)

This is impossible! It is madness to lay such a burden upon struggling people.

What frustrates me even more deeply is that most people see the gospel of Jesus Christ as more of the same. Good advice, a list of times to attend, and a list of things from which you must abstain.

We are supposed to be “servants of a new covenant, not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.” “For we through the Spirit, by faith, are waiting for the hope of righteousness.”

I have got to learn to stop preaching good advice (‘gospels of sin management’) and start preaching Jesus and the kingdom of God. “My yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Lists have a place, but that place MUST BE within the context of the story of God in reality. Our people are starving from a snippet of Scripture, three points, and an altar call.

Something tells me that Philip did not have three points and an invitation when he “preached Jesus” to the Ethiopian treasurer. Please, Father, show me a healthier way. A way that WORKS.

in HIS love,

nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 23 June, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Information overload. I think I read a book of 100 easy ways to overcome that…

    🙂

  2. Let me make 10 points. You are right, There really should just be one point and that point should point right at Jesus. You made me think even though I like John Maxwell.

  3. I LOVE Maxwell. I posted a very positive review of his book The 360-Degree Leader a few months ago. What I fear is that we are offering lists of good advice to people who are starving for a hero, a leader, a REAL PERSON to follow.

    Jesus is on the move, and if we’re not ready, we’ll miss him as sadly and scarily as Israel missed him.

  4. Excellent post. Either the Bible gets treated like a rulebook or a self-help text, and it is neither.

  5. I’m not surprised when non-believers see The Book and expect it to be like other books.

    I’m increasingly frustrated when I and other believers treat (and share) the Bible like “a rulebook or a self-help text.”

    YHWH is blasphemed among the nations because of the ways of his people. I really want to unlearn these life-damaging habits of thinking and acting.

Leave a Reply

