Embracing Wholeness – More Gospel Thoughts

I’m still wrestling with the gospel. Transformation hurts. Division hurts. Sometimes unity hurts, because it means we have to accept those who will not accept us. If we are truly ambassadors, working out a ministry of reconciliation, it doesn’t seem to me that we can just by and accept division. Should part of our time, our thoughts, our work be spent actively seeking to reconcile with those who have chosen to cut us off?

Part of our testimony to the watching world about the work of King Jesus is whether those who bear his name are just as splintered as every other group on earth, or whether we really are different. If we really are different, we’re going to have to AGONIZE (to use Paul’s terminology) to maintain the unity of the Spirit.

About my personal struggle, Darin left this powerful comment: “From your writings I would say that Jesus has made you whole; whether or not you want to embrace that truth or not is another discussion.”

Let’s have that discussion! Because as I sit and write this, I want nothing more than to embrace that truth. If I could embrace it fully, if I could internalize it and let it transform my inner life into one of full confidence in Christ… that’s a whole new world!

What I think I need to do is embrace it by immersion. Not immersion into water (which occured for me in February of 1994), but immersion into the spiritual life. This is where I envy the monastic life, because there one has order. One has brothers who are farther along the path of spiritual discipline who can prescribe a personalized regimen of Scripture and prayer and disciplined practice to heal one’s soul with the power of the Spirit and immerse one into the with-God life. They call it a rule of life. I know that my undisciplined, frenetic, and scatter-shot lifestyle is failing miserably.

If someone came to you and said, “I need instruction on how to embrace the truth of my wholeness in Christ,” how would you instruct them? 

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 27 March, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like your new site.

    I would tell them to start ministering to and serving others. Find the poor in their community, get to know them and minister to them. Get involved with a prison ministry, visit the sick. I think wholeness comes not only from trusting that Christ makes us whole, but in making Christ’s mission our own. To Seek and Save. I love way the disciples learned to embrace the truth of their wholeness in Christ – they learned as they followed Christ from town to town. They listened to Christ. They watched Christ. They emmulated Christ. They made mistakes, and in the process they found their identity in Him.

  2. I would say, “if you still have to be told, you are not there,yet”

    Nick, I would like your opinion on my latest.

  3. Thank you, Cheryl. Notice also, that it was not until they lost him and received him back again that they TRULY embraced the wholeness with which he blessed them. I wonder if that, too, is a neglected part of the pattern of Christian growth. Just as the disciples had to suffer through the dark night of the crucifixion and burial, we too will suffer during our conversion and growth into Him.

    Laymond, truly you have a dizzying intellect. It is a wonder you share in the Christian community at all. You may rest assured that anyone coming to you for counsel, receiving such a response, would not return.

Leave a Reply

