A Prayer For a Friend

Don’t turn a deaf ear when I call you, God.
If all I get from you is deafening silence,
I’d be better off in the Black Hole.

I’m letting you know what I need,
Calling out for help and lifting my arms
Toward your inner sanctum.

Don’t shove me into the same jail cell with those crooks,
With those who are full-time employees of evil.
They talk a good line of “peace,” then moonlight for the Devil.

Pay them back for what they’ve done, for how bad they’ve been.
Pay them back for their long hours in the Devil’s workshop;
Then cap it with a huge bonus.

Because they have no idea how God works or what he is up to,
God will smash them to smithereens
And walk away from the ruins.

Blessed be God— he heard me praying. He proved he’s on my side;
I’ve thrown my lot in with him.
Now I’m jumping for joy, and shouting and singing my thanks to him.

God is all strength for his people, ample refuge for his chosen leader;
Save your people and bless your heritage.
Care for them; carry them like a good shepherd.

We’ve thrown in our lot with the true bringer of shalom, and his promises are sure. Lord, fight my friend’s enemies. Destroy his foe and bring peace back to our world. The enemy has bruised my friend’s heel; now you must crush his head! O Father hear us in our time of need.

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 26 December, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wonderful post.I hope you had a Merry Christmas and have Happy New Year!In Him,Kinney Mabry

  2. The enemy is relentless. My prayers are with your friend, as well.

  3. He’d better relent before our big brother gets a hold of him again. Jesus, don’t let our brother go down today! His voice cries to you out of the Abyss! Lift him up, I beg!in HIS love,Nick

  4. much to think about.thanks.

  5. Praying, tooPeaceNeva

  6. I see the influence of the Psalms in these lines. God bless

  7. The black script is Ps 28 from the Message.Nick

Leave a Reply

