Fiat Mihi

In Luke’s story, God in his unfathomable and awesome wisdom gathers all the long, deep, variegated threads of salvation and passes them through the eye of the tiniest, humblest needle: a teenage Jewish girl saying her prayers.

Who is this stranger in my house?
Where is my father, my husband?

Favor with God? I’m just little Miriam.
Sarah and Hannah are too great for me.

How can this be? I’ve honored my parents!
Please don’t bring this shame on us!

Do not overpower me, I pray.
I am your child, your beloved.

Don’t be afraid… Don’t be afraid… Don’t be afraid…
I am the Lord’s servant. Let it be to me according to your word.

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 28 November, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mary is amazing! I fear that we sometimes are so anxious to dismiss myths about her, that we fail to see her true greatness before God.

  2. Mary is such an exciting example for me. The caricatures of her presented by Mariology so dehumanize her that almost nothing is left of the passionate, devoted, submissive servant of the Most High. The Fiat and the Magnificat are two of my favorite passages in all of Scripture.Thanks for coming by, Gardner.in HIS love,Nick

  3. Beautiful. I’m going to have to google your Wednesdays.

  4. Thank you, Darin.

  5. A really beautiful post, and at the time of year when we need it the most!Mary is a beautiful and innocent example of “Thy will be done.”I’ve been out of the loop, Nick, but I just caught up on reading your last three posts and this one was really inspiring and inspired.

  6. You’ve been preparing some stellar images yourself. Your writing is like a slug of 2-day old coffee. It jolts you and makes you see things differently.How does John describe it? “Sweet in my mouth, but bitter in my stomach.”Keep up the great work! And everyone who reads my blog should be visiting http://thenewparables.blogspot.com Kyle is creating some great kingdom images.in HIS love,Nick

Leave a Reply

