Four Siblings At Breakfast

How shall I describe the kingdom of God?
To what shall I liken it?

It is like 4 siblings gathering for breakfast in their parents’ farmhouse before the day’s chores begin. The parents offer a hearty meal for their children, but they each respond differently.

The smartest sibling takes his meal and examines each food under a magnifying glass. He wonders at all the different ingredients, how they blend together to make such a marvelous meal. So driven by intellect, he looks so closely at his food that he never gets around to eating his meal.

The busiest sibling grabs a biscuit off her plate while running through the kitchen. So driven by duty and clamoring demands, she never eats her meal.

The most passionate, spiritual sibling leans over his plate and inhales each aroma. He lingers over the coffee, the meat, the biscuits, the eggs, everything. So thrilled by each experience, he gets lost in savoring each aroma until the plate is too cold to eat.

The hungriest sibling sits down, thanks her parents for the meal, and eats her fill. So satisfied is she by the meal that she accomplishes all her chores with ease, and everything she does prospers.

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 30 October, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I loved it! Nick, I have one that I probably won’t post for about a week or so that is similar in message. It is so profound that we rarely sit down and actually use what was given to us and enjoy it for what it truly is. We study it, or ignore it, or talk about it…but we were meant to use it. You’ve taken the meal that God gave you and you’ve eaten it, and by doing so, you’re sharing it with us. Thank you!And I also want to thank you for catching my typo on my blog! You were right, and I made the change.

  2. Thank you, Kyle :)Ezekiel, Jeremiah, and John (especially John, oh how powerful a poet is he) show us that it is not enough to be intellectual, practical, or devotional. Thank you, Eugene Peterson and Bobby Valentine for helping me understand this.We MUST eat the book so that it gets inside us and does its work in places where our craving for control cannot hinder its power.Revelation 10!in HIS love,Nick

  3. Cool parable with lots of lessons. I love your blogging. It’s always unique and challenging.Have a great day.PS – you can always correct my typo’s too. I need all the help I can get.

  4. Good stuff.

  5. Great blog brother. Keep it up!

  6. I like simple stories like this that analyze our attitudes towards the blessings God gives. Thanks and may God continue to bless you,

  7. I hope your having a great week.

Leave a Reply

