Where Have You Been Since The Storm Hit?

My father-in-law spent the year before Katrina working feverishly with FEMA in the wake of the terrible hurricane season suffered in the state of Florida. Since then, I have been much more conscious of the grief and terror and loss involved. When Katrina hit, I was working a double shift cooking at Chili’s in Frankfort, the same place I was when 9/11 happened. The helplessness, confusion, and frustration I felt were very similar between the two events.

I have given money and helped raise money to support disaster relief efforts on the Coast, but I have not gone there myself. I hope to be able to do so in the near future. In the meantime, my friend John Dobbs has shared some thoughts from Pascagoula, MS on the second anniversary of Katrina. You can read them at Two Years. Please drop by and remember how much remains to be restored and renewed two years later and so far away from New Orleans.

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 29 August, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Nick. Your heart reminds me of Jesus.

  2. John Dobbs did an excellent job on this!!!

  3. NickLiving near San Antonio alot of people have stayed. The poor have no way to get back home and have found jobs. Most have found a better life than before. I know our congregation has sent money, clothes, food, to churches along the gulf coast who needed it over the last two years. We have also helped churches that were hit by Rita and an f5 that came through a town in Mexico that destroyed a church. Nick, thanks for this post and your blog. Keep up the great work. God bless you brother. May we never forget to help our other brothers and sister in Christ across the country who need it.

Leave a Reply

