Quotes of the Week

My dear brother in Christ and friend Robert Tankersley publishes a weekly prayer list and update for a broad range of people in his community. With it, he shares some quotes that are always pretty good, but this week, they were just stellar. I’d like to share them with you.

“It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but even more to stand up to your friends.” -J.K. Rowling

“A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song.” -Chinese proverb

“I think I should have no other mortal wants, if I could always have plenty of music.” -George Eliot (1819-1880)

“What is the use of praying if at the very moment of prayer we have so little confidence in God that we are busy planning our own kind of answer to our prayer?” -Thomas Merton

“Here lies the grave of John O’Shea
Who died maintaining his right of way,
His right was clear, his will was strong,
But he’s just as dead as if he were wrong.”a parable on basing one’s life on precision achievement

Since it is my blog, I thought I might humbly add a couple of my current favorites:

“In the New Testament, Heaven is important, but it’s not the end of the world.” – NT Wright

Holy Scripture requires a reader who… “does not always remain bent over his pages; he often leans back and closes his eyes over a line he has been reading again, and its meaning spreads through his blood.” – Rainer Maria Rilke

“A man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who can’t read them.” – Mark Twain

in HIS love,
Nick

PS – Any Bible student will profit from reading Ben Witherington III’s latest blog on Interpretation

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 22 August, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Loved the quotes. I’m a sucker for a good quote too. Here are a three of my favorites…The biggest difference between you and God is that God doesn’t think He’s you.” ~ Anne Lamott “Lord, I crawled across the barrenness to you with my empty cup uncertain in asking any small drop of refreshment. If only I had known you better I’d have come running with a bucket.” ~ Nancy Spiegelberg “Church was a weekly reminder that there was something worse than school.” ~ The comedian Gallagher, reflecting on his childhood church experience.

  2. Nick great post brother. I love quotes. My favorite post that you put up is “It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but even more to stand up to your friends.” I have found that out so true in life. Especially when they have a sin that they are faced with in their life and you are the one that need to point it out to them. You are the one that need to help them over-come.

  3. I love Anne Lamott. She doesn’t pull punches.Thanks, guys. I’ll eventually post something this week that we might be able to have a decent discussion over here.in HIS love,Nick

  4. Thanks for the quotes

Leave a Reply

