Reading Thoughts

Ben Overby whacked me over the head!

Not really, but he gave me a “Duh! Why do I always forget that?” kind of reminder with his latest blog entry, Take Time to Meet God.

So I’m taking time to meet my Father. I’m going to give up a little sleep time to read in the morning, and then pray and chew on His Word while I run. I’m going to try also to incorporate it during my workday as well, reading different material.

Right now I’m going to be chewing on Genesis in the mornings, along with Walter Brueggemann’s Genesis commentary from the Interpretation series. During the day, I’m going to be wrestling with Paul’s word to the Christians in Thessalonike, being aided by Ben Witherington’s 1 & 2 Thessalonians – A Sociao-Rhetorical Commentary.

Hopefully, I will find much to blog about as I work through these texts. Please keep me in your prayers, that I might find the discipline and perseverance to grow in my daily relationship with my Father in the Heavens.

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 13 June, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You felt it too hua? He wacked me too. Big time.Blessings….

  2. You will be in my prayers. I understand the difficulty in finding the time to study and the time for one on one time but it so important that you make time. You can not preach from a dry well or desert. Your relationship with God must come first then sermon prep. Here is just a helpful tip: The first thing when you get in the office is shut the door and spend the first hour of the morning with God. Tell secretery no phone calls, no meetings, no visits. Just time for you and God. Begin the way that day and everything else seems to fall into place. Try it. I will keep you in my prayers that you will do this and not burn out. Please give this a try this week and see what happens this next week in your ministry.

  3. “We well give ourselves contunually to prayer and the ministry of the word of God”. Our earliest brothers had the right perspective on the preaching ministry.What if your preacher followed their example for the next month? Do you think the Sunday message would be different, more powerful in the lives of the hearers?Churches saddle the pulpit guy with administrative duties, social calls, listening to whining people and complaints, hospital visits, luncheon meetings, and committee meetings. Then the prep for the Sunday sermon gets crammed in perhaps on late Saturday night. And prayer? Take a guess.I would say our priorities are not in order.Grace to you,Royce Ogle

  4. Nick,I pray that you persevere! In fact, I pray that we all persevere. It’s so easy to push God off to the margins–all the other stuff that screams for our attention is so self-justifying. But resists the noise. Be open to God and let His world work it’s might miracle–let deep call unto deep. You’re always an encouragment, and I thank God that you are persevering!Ben

Leave a Reply

