Priming the Pump

I can’t think of anything to blog about. I’ve had a head cold for a couple of days, and it has fried my brain. So, here’s my inauspicious return to the blogosphere after an extended delay. Praise God for Half-Price Books! What a beautiful chain!

What’s On Nick’s Bookshelf These Days?

Currently In Reading:
The Art of The Commonplace by Wendell Berry (loaned from my father-in-law)
Christ Plays in 10,000 Places by Eugene Peterson
Sacred Rhythms by Ruth Haley Barton
Prayer – Finding the Heart’s True Home by Richard J. Foster
New Testament Theology – Donald Guthrie (for Nations University)

What’s backing up in the queue:
Genesis – Walter Brueggemann (from the Interpretation Commentary series)
How To Read the Bible for All Its Worth – Fee and Stuart
How to Counsel from Scripture – Martin and Deidre Bobgan
Bruce Springsteen’s America: The People listening, a Poet Singing – Robert Coles
The Challenge of Jesus / The Last Word / Simply Christian / The New Testament and the People of God / The Resurrection of the Son of God – NT Wright
Seeking a Lasting City – Love, Foster, Harris ACU Press

What I still want to buy:
Kingdom Come – JM Hicks and Bobby Valentine
Jesus and the Victory of God – NT Wright
The New Testament for Everyone commentary series – NT Wright
Evil and the Justice of God – NT Wright (already read it, as a loaner)
He Loves Forever – Tom Olbricht
DeSilva’s commentary on the Petrine Epistles (I can’t remember the name offhand)

I guess that will have to do for now. 🙂 Come tell me what you are reading

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 14 March, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nick it has been a while since you posted anything to your blog, I wondered what happened to you. I noticed your comment on Bobby Valentine’s blog about the book he co-wrote with Hicks. You said you were trying to get your church to teach from it. so I assume you agree with it. I looked back at the post you put on your blog Dec.7th 06 and re-read what you wrote there.do you believe you found the answer to your grief from an indwelling Holy Spirit or a book called the bible. the written word. Bobby’s book. teaches we have an indwelling guide, I say we were left a written guide and if we read and search we will find the answers we need just like you did.

  2. Welcome back Nick! Been missing your posts.As for me, I’m reading shamefully little. Well, actually, I read tons, but it’s all on a computer monitor.Have a great day!Grace and peace,Tim

  3. Paula Harrington

    Hey Nick,I just read Bobby Valentine’s blog and saw that you are at Holly Hills. My uncle is Tom Hall. Holly Hills was a fine place the many times we visited. Glad they have you and you have them.Paula

  4. Dear Laymond,A written guide cannot rustle the trees. A written guide cannot groan and speak. A written guide cannot “declare” Jesus “to be the Son of God with power… by resurrection from the dead.” A written guide is not a living breath. You may choose to read pneuma as strictly metaphor. I do not.Tim,Thanks for the kind greeting. I appreciate your encouragement.Paula,I had no idea Tom was your uncle! Will you be up for Holly Hill’s Great Days in May? Tom is preaching our Gospel Meeting May 6th, 7th, and 8th. I really appreciate your encouragement, and I pray that I can be of service to the community here.in HIS love,Nick

Leave a Reply

