I Want To Go Home!

The shadows thicken as night grows. Not even the moon shines here tonight.

Why am I here?

Where else can I go?

I’ve blown everything Dad gave me. It’s getting colder now, and the shelters are all full.

I’m so tired. Work barely pays me enough to eat. I’m going to die here. I deserve to die here.

I spat in my own Father’s face. Why? How could I do this to the only one who ever loved me? Look at me now! I’m naked… worthless.

I wanted everything… everything I could lay my hands on. And I GOT IT! Look what it got me. Alone, defiling myself for a night’s warmth.

I want to go home!

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 11 October, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Excellent, Nick. Very visual … compelling…truthful…shameful…hopeful.

  2. Powerful imagery. Thoughts of a prodigal. Are these your thoughts… present… past?

  3. Past… present… I guess the answer would be yes. I was meditating on Luke 15 and this is what I wrote. This is what it means to be a sinner. Thank God this isn’t the end of the story.in HIS love,Nick

  4. Awesome brother

  5. There is a father standing on the front porch with his hands cupped over his eyes to shield the sunlight. He is looking down the long road, waiting for some movement on the horizon. He is always looking for his wayward son.He knows where the ring is, where to find the robe, and he has the best calf in a pen by itself.He has instructed his hired help to be always ready to get in the party mode at his word.He is waiting, watching, longing to embrace his unworthy child.Grace and Peace,Royce Ogle

  6. Thank you for your support, brethren. How could we make it without each other?Anyone reading my blog needs to swing by Room For More(http://gkirkendall.blogspot.com)Many of our assemblies have given up on affecting the crushing systemic poverty of their localities. Part of incarnational living MUST include striving to fulfill Jesus’ inaugural sermon (Luke 4:16-27), doesn’t it? Check out Gary’s blog, and let him know how important his reminder is.in HIS love,Nick

  7. There is no place like home!

Leave a Reply

