Why do I want to be a minister?

Three different times today, in some form, someone asked me this question. When God pokes my heart that obviously, even I am able to sit up and take notice.

Self-examination, reflection, re-evaluation… these aspects of spiritual discipline are often overlooked in the hustle and the bustle of day-to-day existence. I know how invaluable they are in letting God keep me humble and grounded in eternal life, yet somehow I rush along from one place to another, one appointment to the next. Thank you, Maker of the stars, for being gracious enough to conk me over the head with a stop sign.

Why do I want to be a minister?

God rescued me. Me. God sent His Son because I was lost and ruined, but not beyond hope of restoration. He didn’t do it because I am a special case, although I am uniquely precious to Him. He did it because He LOVES. And that is good news. The Creator of everything is neither aloof (but He is shy), nor is He weak (but He is meek), nor is He cruel (though He is a consuming fire). God IS, God LOVES, and God SAVES. Completely. Now and forever. And that, beloveds, is GREAT news. Not only that, it is news I am both qualified and indebted to share.

THAT is why I am a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

in HIS love,
Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 29 October, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

