When I Heard Jim Henson Had Died

I will never laugh the same again
And I will cry a bit more;

For the connection in rainbows
is broken
and there’s little on the other side now.
And the safest Street
on which to travel
Is clouded over with mourning today
It seems silly, I know,
to weep over childhood
Yet at its passing I must go
onward
to endure and to strive and to sweat
and to hurt and to weep. . .
I don’t want to leave so soon.

Each smile will be more bittersweet
and stretch the furrows
of tears on my cheek.
for even the walls of
innocence and
its balming laughter
have been breached by the passage
of time, and even
the safest Streets must yield, I guess,
to Reality.

With each passing day
it is less and less easy
being green.
The lovers, the dreamers, and me
weep for the rainbow and
the greyness of the colors
today.

And I know we will grieve,
and shuffle off and wander on,
But still. . .
You cannot laugh the same again.
– William Duff Harris

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 11 September, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

