Writing Everyday

I love writing.
I suffer from Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder, and I choose to handle my condition through behavior modification rather than medicine. Part of the reason I love writing is that it forces my mind to slow down, focus, and work my way through ideas and themes. Talking is often too distracting, and MUCH more difficult to edit. Writing requires me to recollect my spirit and reflect on my day.
Writing everyday is a horse of a different color. Discipline is not my strongest suit (as one might guess). The hardest part about fulfilling a commitment to journaling is not, as one might believe, finding interesting things to write about. God provides more than enough of that. The hardest part is actually DOING it. Getting over the selfconscious suggestion that I wait until I have something meaningful or important to say. Overcoming distractions. Respecting God enough to give Him some time as I reflect on where I’ve been with Him today.
Writing everyday. It’s a step. Not a big one, but a step regardless.

Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 10 September, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

