Musings on Responsibility

Mark Twain once described the God of the Bible as:

“A God. . . who created man without invitation, then tries to shuffle the responsibility for man’s acts upon man, instead of honorably placing it where it belongs, upon himself. . . .”

Is this statement true or false? Why?

It is false because God did not want man to rebel against Him. God gave men and women the ability to choose. God knew humanity would rebel, in spite of all His efforts to lead us in righteousness. In response to this knowledge, God, before He began the miracle of Creation, punished Himself in the aspect of Christ.

It is false because the responsibility for man’s acts belongs to man, just as God’s acts belong to God. This is part of how man is created in the image of God. No other created being has responsibility.

It is false because God does not abandon His Creation. God shoulders our burden of suffering responsibility. God bore a heavy wooden implement of punishment for sin upon His innocent, bleeding shoulders. God, in this world, in this “stream of time”, was tortured and executed just outside Jerusalem. Regardless of where the responsibility for sin belongs, God shoulders that burden for anyone who asks Him to do so. This atonement places man back in Eden, in perfect submission to the Creator. But God does more! God does not leave us burdenless. He gives us the burden of rest (the same rest that Adam enjoyed in the Garden, before there was work as we know it), of perfect communion with Him. This is the promise of Jesus.

Matthew 11:28-30 [NLT] Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. [29] Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. [30] For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. [29] Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. [30] For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

This is my hope, in which I place my faith, which inspires me to love.

Fumbling towards Eternity,

Nick

About Nick Gill

orphan-poet-adoptee-soldier-prodigal-servant-husband- counselor-desperate seeker after my Father's face "I feel my body weakened by the years as people turn to gods of cruel design. Is it that they fear the pain of death, or is it that they fear the joy of life?" - Toad the Wet Sprocket

Posted on 3 February, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

